Coloring with Spectrum Noir!

Ok, it’s been a while. I just never seem to find time to craft enough,  I’m so busy coordinating everyone else’s crafting! 🙂

But this week…well, this week I just had to jump in. The good folks at Spectrum Noir have been very good to me and the rest of the Stampendous Design Team. So when we had a chance to play with their super talented Design Team, well, I just had to play, too.

spectrum noir banner

For this project I pulled out my Spectrum Noir Blendable Colored Pencils. I love using alcohol markers, but I always have to be so fast to make sure they don’t dry before blending. It’s kind of “hectic”, and I don’t always have time to finish a project, so I just don’t start one. But with colored pencils you can leave the images partially colored and return to finish at any time later. Even when you blend them as you can with these pencils.  And there’s a complete set of these great pencils up for grabs! Plus all the blending accessories you’ll need. Just be sure you enter the Rafflecopter giveaway over on the Stampendous blog. (there are lots of other prizes, too! Be sure you leave a comment here to be entered for some cute House-Mouse Stamps and a Spectrum Noir gift certificate!)

My project features the Stampendous Asian Umbrella Set. This darling parasol is just wonderful, and all the accessories that go with it are so much fun. I wanted a card that reminded me of those 1940’s MGM musicals where the chorus pulls away a series of umbrellas, or fans, or parasols leaving a dancing and singing Vera Ellen or Rosemary Clooney to do her stuff. This gatefold card does just that… with all the glitz and glam of a 1940’s musical, too!

Asian Umbrella by Laura Weed

inside Asian Umbrella card

Stampendous Asian Umbrella Card by Laura Weed

Here’s the list of who’s hopping today. Scroll below the list if you want more “tutorial” kind of detail. Be sure to leave a comment!!

Stampendous Blog

Laura Weed (you’re here)

Jamie Martin

Tenia Nelson

Spectrum Noir Blog

stamping I started by stamping my parasols on Mixed Media White Paper. I used Onyx Black VersaFine ink from Tsukineko.

pencilsPencils and accessories at the ready! Pencil sharpener, Gamsol, paper stumps, and sandpaper bar for cleaning the stumps. Ooooh…the goodness! And don’t worry. I won’t be breaking the tips on my pencils, I put soft foam in the bottom of the cute little buckets.

colored pencil I used colored pencils, trying for at least two shades of each color. The spaces are small, but it was really easy.

gamsolThen I dipped the stump into the Gamsol (that’s hopefully how you do it, it worked anyway) and as I rubbed the colored pencil, it became a lovely, blended, watercolor look. I have seen this technique a million times, but this is the first time I’ve done it. I was thrilled with the results.

background close up I stamped all over my light pink panels with VersaMark Watermark Ink and the three-flower background design in the set. Then I embossed with Stampendous Crystal Embossing Powder for a shiny, glittery look. This is soooo much better IRL!!

closeup glitterHere’s a closeup that kind of shows the glitter. I stamped and colored the inside panel as well, then trimmed out a greeting for the front panel. I added Multi Crystal Glitter everywhere with a glue pen. Hope you’ve enjoyed it!

50 comments on “Coloring with Spectrum Noir!

  1. Sandy says:

    I like the look that you achieved with those pencils. Nice card.

  2. Asia King says:

    Oh I looooove your gatefold card and the Oriental theme. And the sparkle and colouring! Beautiful!

  3. Teresa Harris says:

    A beautiful card!

  4. Lysiane says:

    WHAO……….!!! Loving this oriental card, great for invitation. And the colors that you used, soft and oriental.

  5. Janet Cobb says:

    So beautiful! I love the parasols, your coloring is wonderful and I really like the glittery touch!

  6. rickiquilt says:

    This is such a beautiful card!!!!! Love it!!!!

  7. Chris W. says:

    What a beautiful card! The colors are fantastic!

  8. 1aquagirl says:

    I love these beautiful umbrellas! Thank you for sharing.

  9. Dee Ann Matthews says:

    Great tutorial – the umbrellas are awesome!

  10. joanvanc says:

    Oh, so creative with the gate folded card. I’d love to try those pencils, too. What a fun parasol image and sentiment. Thanks for sharing.

  11. Shelley says:

    Wow Great cards. Thanks for the instructions, I am just starting out with the pencils and love them

  12. D.AnnC says:

    Gorgeous! I love cards that have overhang on a panel! Fab coloring!!

  13. Brandi R says:

    Wow this is GORGEOUS!!!! Love the whole kit-n-kaboodle!!! ♥

  14. Mary Holshouser says:

    the colors are so soft and pretty. Love how the fans spread out over one side of the card.
    Clever idea.
    thanks for sharing a beautiful card.

  15. Debbie W says:

    So beautiful, this card is a gift all by itself!

  16. MOI says:

    Love your card. Thanks for sharing.

  17. Lieve says:

    What a beautiful, delicate card ! Your colouring turned out great ! Congratulations !

  18. gorgeous card, love the asian theme!

  19. Sue D says:

    Beautiful. I like that this is a gatefold card and how you colored the parasols.

  20. Cynthia says:

    Such a pretty card. Love the big umbrellas, they are so cheerful looking.

  21. mjmarmo says:

    Wow- so pretty!

  22. Sandra KM says:

    Your card is gorgeous! I too love the results when using Gamsol and colored pencils.

  23. Wow! The cascade of soft hues and sparkly embossing are so refreshing. Love all the techniques shared from this wonderful card in our hop with Spectrum Noir this week!

  24. Victoria Banaszak says:

    Your card is so pretty. I love the umbrellas. It sings of spring.

  25. LOVELOVELOVE this stamp set!!! It has moved to the top of my wish list!! LOVE your gorgeous card too! Awesome coloring! TFS!

  26. love your parasols and coloring very springlike!

  27. Betty Swan says:

    beautiful card design. love the parasols

  28. Helen Markee says:

    very pretty!!

  29. Regina Furman says:

    Love this card! I really like the idea of the parasols overlapping! Great coloring too!

  30. Gorgeous soft colouring love all the deatils & shape so pretty love it.

    smiles Christine x

  31. Beautiful card and love the colors and shading..wonderful!

  32. Alison says:

    that is so pretty, I love it.

  33. Karen Petitt says:

    That is one stamping card! I love the stamps too! You have coloured tholove those images beautifully, thank you so much for the fab blog hop Karen x

  34. snoopydance1 says:

    OOH! This is so beautiful! I love the soft look you got with the pencils.

    Hugs,
    Snoopy 😀

  35. Carla Hundley says:

    This card is so pretty
    and a great design!
    Carla from Utah

  36. Teresa Godines #6857 says:

    Beautiful card. I love your fold. TFS

  37. Kristine says:

    Beautiful! I wish you had more time to craft…I love your creations!

  38. chidchat0904 says:

    W O W !!!! What a Unique & Beautiful Card!!!
    LOVE the Stamp Set!! TFS!!!

  39. jynjyr says:

    Love your card. It is beautiful.

  40. Michel E says:

    Love the card.

    craftymom205 at yahoo dot com

  41. Cathy says:

    I love your card, I absolutely love the parasols and the beautiful colors . I am just finding out about Spectrum Noir colors and want to try them all. We have been talking about them on my stamping list. We have always used the .”.other” kind so we are excited to find out about these and how to use them. Thank you for sharing your beautiful card.

  42. Amy#8546 says:

    What a great stamp set and your card is so pretty. Love all the colored umbrella’s. Wonderful job on the fold too.

  43. mjmarmo says:

    ABsolutely beautiful!

  44. Jade Passmore says:

    I love your darling paper parasol card. Your gatefold card did achieve the feel of a 1940’s MGM musical!

  45. Oh so so pretty! I’ve been wondering about trying the pencils, you’ve given me more idea about them thank you

  46. E. Marie says:

    Lovely card. I really like the water color look you get.

  47. TracyM #6773 says:

    BEAUTIFUL card Laura – LOVE IT, inside & out!!!
    Your umbrellas are DELIGHTFUL, LOVE your DELICATE colouring & FANCY folds too!!!
    THANK YOU for sharing your CREATIVE INSPIRATION!!!

  48. Katie B. says:

    oh my, I love this card design! Awesome ideas. Love these stamps!! Thanks for sharing.

    Katie B.

Constructive Criticism or Outright Agreement Here

